I understand why the referees said Ahmad Brooks clotheslined Drew Brees

Take a look at this GIF. The play resulted in a fumble by Drew Brees and recover by the 49ers. However, the officials ruled that Ahmad Brooks contacted with Brees’ neck, thus negating the turnover.

I don’t see it that way. But apparently not everyone agrees with me.

Clearly? Not so. Brooks’ shoulder hits Brees’ shoulder. Brooks’ arm connects with Brees’ chest. Contact with the neck? Nope.

Of course the league rules state that contact can’t be made to the “neck area” but if that’s the case, where does the neck area begin? Apparently the shoulder and chest is part of the “neck area.”

Continue reading