Was that a goaltend at the end of the UCLA-SMU game?

That was the game-winning shot! Except the ball never went in. It was ruled a goaltend and UCLA took the lead and won, advancing to the next round.

Take a look at these two angles. Is that a goaltend? The shot looks off and there appears to be a chance that it would have missed the rim entirely. Maybe the refs think it could have grazed the rim. We’ll never know. But from these angles, it looks like it would have missed.

However, the risk is too high to be even trying to grab the ball that close to the rim. And it’s odd that the officials can’t go to replay on something like that. Still, it may not have had any chance of going in, but chancing it by reaching for the ball that close to the rim warrants a call. Not a fair call, but it was the call that had to be made.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s