Cavaliers fan tries to prove that Derrick Rose’s game-winning shot should not have counted

One of the best things about Twitter is reading tweets from fans who have conspiracy theories or can’t accept reality. Following Derrick Rose’s game-winner against the Cavs, I saw this tweet from a Cavs fan trying to prove that the inbound took too long. I found this very funny.

Of course, the first mistake here was that the timer started when the whistle blew, not when the inbounder received the ball. Clearly this fan doesn’t know the rules. The whistle only means that the game is resuming, not to start the clock.

Also, the five-second rule can’t be precise. It actually is on the discretion of the referee who is making the count. And if you look at the referee, he is at about 4.75 (give or take) in his count.

So when you start the counter of when the inbounder Dunleavy fully gathers the basketball to the point of when he releases the ball, it’s under five seconds. By my count, it’s at 4.79 on my stopwatch.

Nice try, bitter Cavs fan. But you are very wrong.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s