Check out the above GIF from SB Nation.
My initial thought told me that this was a blatant interference and that the home run should not have counted.
I even dug into the MLB rule book to make sure. The rule comes from section 3, article 16.
In case you missed it last night, the A’s were down to their final out and what appeared to be a game-tying home run was ruled a double, despite the umpire crew going to instant replay and upholding their original call.
All replays show that the ball hit the railing behind the wall. That is a home run. Angel Hernandez, the crew chief, says it was inconclusive. But it was very conclusive.
Here’s MLB’s statement on the matter via Joe Torre.
Angel Hernandez is going to get it from A’s fans when he umpires a game there later this season. Only excuse that this happens is that he didn’t have any replay or the TV he was using was standard definition. Regardless, replay doesn’t work if people still get it wrong.